777 Harris Street, Suite 103
Jackson, MS 39202

P.O. Box 22742
Jackson, MS 39225-2742

Phone: 601/354-6370

Rick L. Ericksen, RPG, CPG
Executive Director

The Registered Professional Geologists Practice Act of 1997 is enacted legislation requiring the registration of geologists practicing within Mississippi. The Act contains the requirements for registration, definitions of terms, as well as a description of the governing board. This legislation was passed during the 1997 Legislative session and was effective July 1, 1997. This legislation was revised during the 2006 Legislative session. The resulting legislation, that was effective on July 1, 2006, no longer has a repealer (sunset) provision, changes the renewal period from biennial (every two years) to annually (each year), changes fees (please see “New Fees” for important information), and contains some minor revisons related to ethics.

Renew Your License Online Purchase Your MSBRPG Stamp or Embosser

Application Package

All forms and the required reading of the Rules of the Board, including the codified Registered Professional Geologists Practice Act of 1997, may be downloaded from this site. The entire application package is in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. If you do not have the Adobe Acrobat Reader software, it is available free from Adobe. To download, click on the following, Adobe Acrobat Reader​. Once there, follow the instructions to download the software. After downloading the Adobe Acrobat Reader, click on the Document tab at the top of this page and then the MSBRPG Application Materials link.  All of the required forms and instructions for filling out the application are contained in that document.

You must have a completed Geologist-In-Training (GIT) or Registered Professional Geologist (RPG) Application per above on file with the Board prior being allowed to take either the ASBOG Fundamentals of Geology or the Practices of Geology Examinations. You may take only one exam per exam offering. Also note that you will be considered for registration as a RPG only after the successful passage of both ASBOG examinations.

The application and reference forms may be filled out on screen. After completing the required forms you only then need to print them utilizing your printer. It is suggested that you print each page immediately after it is completed in case you have computer or printer problems, as the Application cannot be saved.

Members of the Board

Kenneth D. Ruckstuhl, President, Environmental Management Services; representing geotechnical/environmental industrial sector (Term: July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2016).

Patricia A. Phillips, Vice President, Office of Land and Water Resources/MDEQ; representing government sector (Term: July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2017).

Maurice N. Birdwell, Milbird Resources, LLC; representing mining/extraction sector (Term: July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2015).

David M. Patrick, Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi; representing academia (Term: July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2017).​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Michael J. Wright, MDOT; representing at large sector (Term: July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2016).

News & Events

There are no items to show in this view.
View More News​​ ​​​​​​​​​​


Board’s Director: The board’s Director is a registered professional geologist and also a certified petroleum geologist. Most boards of licensure/registration in Mississippi generally have administrators who have no educational and/or practical experience in the area of licensure/registration that they are charged to administer.

View all factoids​​​​​​​​


P.O. BOX 22742
JACKSON, MS 39225-2742

Phone: 601/354-6370

Rick L. Ericksen, RPG, CPG
Executive Director